Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Web Content Display Web Content Display

[menu items]

Web Content Display Web Content Display

September 2016

Message from the Director General
for the 2016-2017 School Year

As autumn's bright colours are paving the way to the "Back-to-School" period, it is once again time to welcome back our students, parents and staff for what promises to be another enriching school year. At this time last year, I was undertaking my second year as Director General of the Central Québec School Board (CQSB).  Just as in my first year in this position, the 2015-2016 school year brought about a number of experiences that were both challenging and fulfilling.

First and foremost, the strong performance of our students on the 2016 June uniform ministerial examinations cannot go without mention as it was, once again, simply stellar. The results demonstrate that CQSB remains one of the leading school boards in the province! Our sustained results attest to the outstanding dedication of all our staff; school principals, vice-principals, teachers, professionals, support staff, administrators as well as our parents and community volunteers. We all work together to support the learning of each and every one of our students – from the preschooler to the adult learner. As always, our students are truly at the center of all our organization's actions.

At the same time, I am very proud to say that the increased enrolment trend has continued and that CQSB will be welcoming more students in 2016-2017 than it did last year. Again, this is great news!

I would also like to take this opportunity to express my gratitude with regard to the collaborative relationship that we, the School Board administrators, share with our Council of Commissioners. The sound, and informed decision-making of our Council, is a true testament to our strong commitment to ensuring success for ALL our students and defending their rights to a high quality English education. I firmly believe that the results obtained by our students, year after year, bear witness to the great value of our devoted Council of Commissioners and I am delighted to be a part of this on-going and genuine partnership.

Last but certainly not least, I recently had the privilege to greet and welcome our new teachers during our annual Induction Training Session held in mid-August; and I would also like to extend a very warm welcome to all newcomers and our returning staff and wish everyone a memorable school year.

May the 2016-2017 school year be successful for everyone!

Respectfully submitted,

Stephen Pigeon

Director General

Agrégateur de contenus Agrégateur de contenus

Afficheur de contenus web Afficheur de contenus web

[menu items]

Afficheur de contenus web Afficheur de contenus web

Septembre 2016

Mot du directeur général
pour l'année scolaire 2016-2017

Tandis que les couleurs éclatantes de l'automne ouvrent la voie à la période du « retour en classe », il est à nouveau temps pour nous de saluer le retour de nos élèves, de leurs parents et de notre personnel, en cette nouvelle année qui promet, encore une fois, d'être des plus enrichissantes. À pareille date l'an dernier, je commençais ma seconde année à titre de directeur général de la Commission scolaire Central Québec (CSCQ). Tout comme lors de ma première année dans cette fonction, l'année scolaire 2015-2016 a généré bon nombre d'expériences intéressantes qui étaient à la fois stimulantes et gratifiantes.

Tout d'abord, la solide performance de nos élèves aux épreuves uniques du Ministère de juin 2016 ne peut passer sous silence, car elle a été, encore une fois, tout simplement exceptionnelle. Leurs notes démontrent que la CSCQ continue d'être l'une des commissions scolaires les plus performantes de la province ! Nos résultats constants témoignent du dévouement de tous les membres de notre personnel ; directeurs d'école, directeurs d'école adjoints, enseignants, professionnels, personnel de soutien, administrateurs, ainsi que de nos tout dévoués parents et bénévoles communautaires. Nous travaillons tous ensemble pour favoriser l'apprentissage de chacun de nos élèves - de la maternelle à l'âge adulte. Comme toujours, nos élèves sont vraiment au centre de toutes les actions de notre organisation.

Parallèlement, je suis très fier de dire que la tendance à la hausse des inscriptions se poursuit et que la CSCQ accueillera plus d'étudiants en 2016-2017 que l'année dernière. Encore une fois, c'est une excellente nouvelle !

J'aimerais par ailleurs profiter de l'occasion pour exprimer ma reconnaissance à l'égard de la relation de collaboration que nous, les administrateurs de la Commission scolaire, partageons avec notre Conseil des commissaires. Leur prise de décisions judicieuse et éclairée fait foi de notre engagement à assurer le succès de TOUS nos élèves et à défendre leur droit à une éducation de qualité en anglais. Je crois résolument que les résultats obtenus par nos élèves, année après année, témoignent de la grande valeur de notre Conseil des commissaires des plus dévoués et je suis ravi du maintien de ce partenariat continu et authentique.

Dernier point, mais non le moindre, j'ai eu le plaisir d'accueillir et de souhaiter la bienvenue à nos nouveaux enseignants lors de notre séance annuelle de formation qui s'est tenue à la mi-août ; je voudrais également souhaiter la bienvenue à tous les autres nouveaux membres du personnel ainsi qu'à ceux qui sont de retour et je souhaite à tous une année scolaire mémorable.

Que l'année scolaire 2016-2017 soit couronnée de succès pour nous tous !

Respectueusement,

Stephen Pigeon

Directeur général