Asset Publisher Asset Publisher

Web Content Display Web Content Display

Jimmy Sandy Memorial School

1014, Naskapi Road, C.P. 5152
Kawawachikamach, Québec
G0G 2Z0 

Telephone: 418 585-3811
Fax: 418 585-3347

 

 

Location

Jimmy Sandy Memorial School is located on the Naskapi territory of Kawawachikamach, approximately 15km away from Schefferville, Québec. As a remote, northern community, there are no roads connecting Kawawachikamach to the rest of the province. Visitors must either arrive via train that departs from Sept-Îles, or take the airplane.
 

Mission

ᐅᔅᑯᐎᑕᐤ (Uskuitau): Is a Naskapi word meaning "Let's work harder together". 

 

Vision

Jimmy Sandy Memorial School is the Naskapi school of Kawawachikamach. We commit to building relationships of trust and respect so that our students are culturally proud and confident. By working together our students will be successful in their goals and dreams.

 

Values

  • Respect
  • Safety
  • Success

 

Our Story

Jimmy Sandy was born on March 1, 1965, the youngest of fourteen children born to late Reverend Joseph Sandy and Elizabeth Sandy. Jimmy was a wonderful and pleasant boy whom many befriended. He had a lot of love for people especially children. His parents, who raised their children in the Christian faith, instilled fine qualities in Jimmy. He was a quiet-spoken boy who enjoyed his short life to the fullest.

Tragically, on March 1, 1978 (Jimmy's 13th birthday), he perished in a house fire along with his mother and father. The community was in shock.

In 1985, the Naskapi Nation of Kawawachikamach built their first school. The community made a decision to name the school in Jimmy's honour.

Jimmy Sandy Memorial School (JSMS) provides English education to the communities of Kawawa, as well as Naskapi beneficiaries that reside in Schefferville. Uniquely, JSMS offers Naskapi immersion to students from Pre-Kindergarten to Grade 2, at which point students begin English instruction and Naskapi becomes a subject. While Naskapi is the mother tongue for most students in Kawawa, students coming from Schefferville frequently speak Innu and French before coming to JSMS to learn Naskapi and English. For this reason, students participate in a Grade 3 enrichment  year, to better facilitate language acquisition. While classes are offered up to Secondary V, JSMS also offers students the Work-Oriented Training Path: Pre-Work Training.

With an average population of around 250 students, JSMS class sizes range from around 20 students in some elementary classes to some secondary classes with as few as 8 students.

 

Annual Events

  • Diane's Day: Diabetes Awareness Day in September
  • Diabetes Walk: May
  • Community Cookout: June / August
  • Christmas Concert
  • Graduation Ceremonies: Kindergarten, Grade 6, Secondary V and Pre-Work Training

 

Special Projects

  • Joé Juneau's School Based Hockey Program: A youth hockey program that helps build a love for the sport while emphasizing the importance of education.
  • McGill Youth Study Team (MYST): For over a decade the MYST team has been working with the school, collecting student data, and assisting in early indication of students at risk allowing for early intervention.
  • Naskapi Culture Program: A local course allowing students to practice, deepen and preserve their cultural practices, knowledge and heritage.
  • Response to Intervention: A daily block of time allowing staff the opportunity to ensure student learning.

Agrégateur de contenus Agrégateur de contenus

Afficheur de contenus web Afficheur de contenus web

École Jimmy Sandy Memorial

1014, Naskapi Road, C.P. 5152
Kawawachikamach (Québec) G0G 2Z0 

Téléphone: 418 585-3811
Télécopieur: 418 585-3347


 

Emplacement

l'École Jimmy Sandy Memorial est située sur le territoire Naskapi de Kawawachikamach, à environ 15 km de Schefferville, au Québec. Aucune route ne relie le reste de la province à la communauté nordique éloignée de Kawawachikamach. Les visiteurs doivent donc prendre le train en provenance de Sept-Îles ou l'avion.
 

Mission

ᐅᔅᑯᐎᑕᐤ (Uskuitau): C'est un mot de la langue Naskapie signifiant "Ensemble, travaillons plus fort".

 

Vision

L'École Jimmy Sandy Memorial est l'école Naskapie de Kawawachikamach. Nous nous engageons à bâtir des relations empreintes de confiance et de respect, afin que nos élèves soient fiers de leur culture et confiants. En travaillant ensemble, nos élèves atteindront leurs objectifs et réaliseront leurs rêves.

 

Valeurs

  • Respect
  • Sécurité
  • Réussite

 

Notre histoire

Jimmy Sandy est né le 1er mars 1965, le petit dernier de la famille de quatorze enfants du regretté Révérend Joseph Sandy et d'Elizabeth Sandy. Jimmy était un garçon merveilleux et plaisant qui avait de nombreux amis. Il aimait beaucoup les autres, surtout les enfants. Ses parents, qui ont élevé leurs enfants dans la foi chrétienne, ont inculqué de grandes qualités à Jimmy. Il était un garçon discret qui a profité pleinement de sa courte vie.

Il a péri, ainsi que son père et sa mère, de façon tragique, le 1er mars 1978 (le jour de son 13e anniversaire), au cours de l'incendie de sa demeure. La communauté était sous le choc.

En 1985, la nation Naskapie de Kawawachikamach a construit sa première école. La communauté a décidé de baptiser l'école en l'honneur de Jimmy.

L'École Jimmy Sandy Memorial offre une éducation en anglais aux communautés de Kawawa, ainsi qu'aux Naskapis demeurant à Shefferville. Elle est la seule école qui offre une immersion en langue naskapie à ses élèves, et ce, de la prématernelle à la 2e année, moment où les élèves commencent à être éduqués en anglais et où la langue naskapie devient une matière. Bien que le naskapi soit la langue maternelle de la plupart des élèves de Kawawa, ceux qui viennent de Shefferville parlent souvent le montagnais et le français avant leur arrivée à l'école, où ils doivent apprendre le naskapi et l'anglais. C'est pourquoi les élèves de 3e année participent à une année d'enrichissement pour favoriser l'acquisition de ces langues. l'École offre tous les niveaux scolaires, jusqu'à la 5e année du secondaire, ainsi que le parcours de formation axée sur l'emploi, option formation préparatoire au travail.

Comportant un bassin d'environ 250 élèves, l'École Jimmy Sandy Memorial a des classes d'environ 20 élèves à certains niveaux du primaire, se réduisant à aussi peu que 8 élèves à quelques niveaux du secondaire.

 

Événements annuels

  • La journée de Diane (Diane's Day): Journée de sensibilisation au diabète tenue en septembre
  • La marche pour le diabète (Diabetes Walk): En mai
  • Cuisine communautaire en plein air (Community Cookout): juin/août
  • Concert de Noël
  • Cérémonie de remise des diplômes: maternelle, 6e année, 5e niveau du secondaire, formation préparatoire au travail

 

Projets spéciaux

  • Le programme de hockey axé sur l'éducation de Joé Juneau: Un programme de hockey destiné aux jeunes qui contribue à susciter leur passion pour le sport tout en mettant l'accent sur l'importance de l'éducation.
  • Le groupe d'étude sur la jeunesse de McGill (McGill Youth Study Team ou MYST): Depuis plus de dix ans, le groupe d'étude MYST travaille de concert avec l'école, faisant la collecte de données sur les élèves et contribuant ainsi au dépistage précoce des élèves à risque, ce qui permet une intervention rapide auprès d'eux.
  • Le programme de culture Naskapi: Un cours local permettant aux élèves de mettre en pratique, d'approfondir et de préserver leurs coutumes, leurs connaissances et leur héritage culturel.
  • Réponse à l'intervention: Une période quotidienne donnant au personnel l'occasion d'assurere l'apprentissage des élèves.